■ IUCN Red List of Threatened Species

✅Recently, the International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) has released its latest Red List of Threatened Species.

● Key facts:

✅Some 902 species are officially extinct.

✅30 percent of the species (38,543) that it assessed (138,374) face the threat of extinction.

✅Some 80 species are extinct in the wild, 8,404 are critically endangered, 14,647 are endangered, 15,492 are vulnerable and 8,127 are near threatened.

✅Some 71,148 species are of least concern, while 19,404 are data deficient.

● Important Species mentioned in the report:

✅The Atlantic bluefin tuna (Thunnus thynnus) moved from endangered to least concern while the Southern bluefin tuna (Thunnus maccoyii) moved from critically endangered to endangered.

✅The world’s largest living lizard, the Komodo dragon (Varanus komodoensis), has been moved from vulnerable to endangered.

✅The species is endemic to Indonesia and occurs only in the World Heritage-listed Komodo National Park and neighbouring Flores.

● What is the IUCN red list of threatened species?

✅It is the world’s most comprehensive inventory of the global conservation status of plant and animal species.

● How are species categorised?

✅It uses a set of quantitative criteria to evaluate the extinction risk of thousands of species.

● The IUCN Red List Categories:

✅The IUCN Red List Categories define the extinction risk of species assessed. Nine categories extend from NE (Not Evaluated) to EX (Extinct).

✅Critically Endangered (CR), Endangered (EN) and Vulnerable (VU) species are considered to be threatened with extinction.

IUCN use terms like “threatened”
Critically Endangered (CR), Endangered (EN) and Vulnerable (VU) .
What does each category mean ?
In descending order of threat, the IUCN Red List threat categories are as follows:

1. Extinct or Extinct in the Wild: This means that the species are no longer available in the wild
2. Critically Endangered, Endangered and Vulnerable:* species threatened with global extinction.
3. Near Threatened:* species close to the threatened thresholds or that would be threatened without ongoing conservation measures.
4. Least Concern:* species evaluated with a lower risk of extinction.
5. Data Deficient:* no assessment because of insufficient data.

Endangered African wild dog

● Utility of the red list:

✅It brings into focus the ongoing decline of Earth’s biodiversity and the influence humans have on life on the planet. It provides a globally accepted standard with which to measure the conservation status of species over time.

✅Scientists can analyze the percentage of species in a given category and how these percentages change over time; they can also analyze the threats and conservation measures that underpin the observed trends.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s